P. O. Box 575  • Sealy, Texas •  979-877-4822  •   alan@cowboysportsnews.com



THE TWENTYTH ANNUAL SHERIDAN, WYOMING, ELK'S YOUTH RODEO was held on August 25 and 26, 2012. The rodeo's 26 events attracted contestants from Alberta, Montana, Oregon, North Dakota, Idaho, Colorado, South Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming.  Three arenas, running at the same time, were used to accommodate the 716 entrees each day. This is up from last years 604 entries each day. We were concerned that with the number of ranchers either burned out or droughted out we might be down on our number of entries this year. We are very pleased with the turn out.

Cash and awards of $68,000.00 were presented to contestants ages 17 and under.  These consisted of cash and scholarships of $12,200.00 and awards valued at $55,800.00.

T. J. McCauley, 17, from Redmond, Oregon, won the Senior All Around, a one-year lease of a new Ford truck, provided by Fremont Motors, Sheridan, WY.

T. J. McCauley also won the All Around Youth award, a Jackson three horse slant load trailer, provided by Prime Rate Motors, Sheridan, WY. 

Brynna Wolfe, 9, from Bolder, Montana, received a $2,000.00 scholarship as the All Around Youth Reserve Champion. All Around Youth Reserve Runner-up receiving a $1,000.00 scholarship was Brooke Howell, 12, From Belle Fourche, South Dakota.

The Senior Reserve Champion receiving a $2,000.00 scholarship was Casey Rae Reimler, 16, from Rozet, Wyoming. The Senior Reserve Runner-up receiving a saddle Was Cashlee Cunningham, 15, From Banner, Wyoming. The saddle for the Intermediate All Around went to Caydee Johnson, 13, from Manhattan, Montana. The saddle for the Junior All Around went to Brynna Wolfe, 9, from Bolder, Montana, and the saddle for the pee wee all around went to Rance Bowden, 6, from Belle Fourche, South Dakota. The other winners are as shown on the attached list.

The Sheridan Elk's Lodge #520 wishes to thank all of the contestants and sponsors for their help in making this possible and is looking forward to holding this event again next year.