P. O. Box 575  • Sealy, Texas •  979-877-4822  •   alan@cowboysportsnews.com

May 13, 2010


The board of directors of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo met May 13, 2010, to elect the Show's top leaders for the 2011 Show season.

Charles R. "Butch" Robinson was elected for a third term as chairman of the board. He is self-employed in the oil and gas industry and is a rancher with a cow/calf and horse operation. Robinson became a member of the Show in 1988, and in 1997 was elected to the board of directors. From 2001 through 2003, he served the Show as a vice president and was officer in charge of the Agricultural Mechanics, All Breeds Livestock Sales, Junior Commercial Steer Feeding and Management Contest, Livestock, and Trail Ride committees.

Skip Wagner was re-elected as president and chief executive officer, Leroy Shafer as vice president and chief operating officer, Chris Ramey as general counsel, and Jennifer Hazelton as chief financial officer.

Re-elected to the Show's Executive Committee were Tilman J. Fertitta, Wayne Hollis, Jack Lyons, Ed McMahon, Keith A. Steffek and R.H. "Steve" Stevens.

Current Executive Committee members are past presidents Joseph T. Ainsworth, M.D., Jim Bloodworth, Don D. Jordan, Stuart Lang, Louis M. Pearce Jr. and P. Michael Wells, and past chairmen of the board John O. Smith and Paul G. Somerville.

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Executive Committee is comprised of the current Show chairman of the board, all past presidents and chairmen of the board, and at least five members elected from the board of directors, who may each serve up to nine, one-year terms.

Eighteen vice presidents, elected for one-year terms, supervise the activities of nearly 24,000 volunteers serving on more than 100 different committees. Each may serve up to three terms. Newly elected vice presidents are:
• Paul F. Lehnhoff – Missouri City, Texas — president, Sowesco I Ltd.
• E.D. Lester – Houston — chairman and chief executive officer, Stewart Title Houston Division
• Michael S. "Mike" McKinney – Seabrook, Texas — president, LBC Houston LP
• Tim William Ping – Richmond, Texas — president, Texan Tubular Sales LP
• Jim Van Hoozer – Houston — insurance sales, State Farm Insurance
• Patrick Aaron Walker – Houston — president, Universal Supply & Equipment

Elected to second terms were Curtis Brenner, Rey Gonzales, Yance Montalbano, Steve Roe, Darryl Schroeder, and Pam Springer, and to third terms were David Boothe, George Buschardt, Tom Davis, Warner Ervin, Tom Lippincott, and Ken McGuyer.

At the Show's annual meeting on May 11, the membership elected 18 new directors to the Show's board: Scott Anderson, John Stuart Beken, Roy Brock, Jill H. Clement, Jerry Michael Crews, Ronald E. Gulihur, Kathleen "Kaki" Herd, Kenneth Hucherson, Jeffrey Michael "Jeff" Jones, Glenn T. Lilie, Richard Marburger, Gary E. Parks, Eric R. Potts, Tony Rich, Archie R. Thompson, C. Thompson "Tommy" Wells, Constance White and Rodney Wayne "Rod" Williams.

In addition, eight directors were honored with the status of lifetime director for their dedicated service to the Show. The new lifetime directors are George Clair Arnold Jr., Rance Lee Barham, Terry S. "T C" Crawford, John B. Gunn, Michael Hill, Mike Jolley, Oscar Padilla Jr. and Gary Pugh.

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo is a Section 501(c)(3) charity dedicated to benefiting youth, supporting education, and facilitating better agricultural practices through exhibitions and presentation. The 2011 Show runs March 1-20 at Reliant Park.